Issy just didn’t care. We need another Issy. – Mario Testino

I have always considered myself a dignified male. I am perhaps not from aristocracy. I perhaps am not wealthy enough to endorse in new design talent but if anything is unconditional it is my grief that Isabella Blow did not stay alive long enough for my career to ever lead me towards her.

I take little pride in writing trend reports, discussing high street style or Sir Phillip Green’s latest business venture. My interests lie in the depths of fashion design, conceptual art, conceptual design and fragrant individuals whose aroma stays fresh in the breeze far after their demise. For me there is but one. Isabella Blow would have been my greatest inspiration and is my greatest muse. Her tragic suicide has forever left a void in my life. I miss something I never had and mourn someone I have never met.

But it is Blow’s work that fill me with inspiration and determination. During my time researching Isabella in the midst of a cold winter during 2006 I was baffled by the outlandish, outrageous and pure imagination this woman showcased on her head, on her lips and even in her words. Growing up in a somewhat conservative household the thought of cords and simple pinstriped suits continues to send shudders down my spine. It wasn’t until I broke the boundaries of a narrow-minded school, full of individuals with thug like attitudes and little understanding of the world of fashion that I really began to experiment.

Although I look back now and hang my head in shame, at the time oversized plastic boom box necklaces and two rings on each and every finger was me experimenting, taking into account my inspirations and attempting to pull off something just as outlandish as Blow herself. Needless to say I was unsuccessful in really giving it that original flare. Instead I appeared to present myself as a rebellious young boy breaking away from conservative dress codes under the view that my parents didn’t understand me, the public didn’t understand me and nor did the rest of the south coast of England. The only person who would have understood me at the time, in my eyes, would have been Issy.

During her reign of power as Editor of Tatler magazine her return from India made way to a career at The Sunday Times Style magazine as Fashion Director. She was later fired. The publication has been notorious in writing about her life, her time at the Times and her unique and inspirational sense of style. Shame on the Times for being unable to open their minds to an individual who not only brought her name to the publication but also a collection of designers who would have soared the publication to the very top. Shame on them indeed. A spineless publication if ever I have heard of one.

Yet where are the Blows of the world? The uprising of the blogging teen celebrity has left me considering what Isabella would have thought about the use of social media. Would she have frowned? Blow voiced her concern over her age. She believed fashion was becoming a world for the young and that her time as one of the most influential women in fashion was coming to a catastrophic end.

She was the last beacon of true creativity. She was the last beacon of showcasing new talent and celebrating the talented. She, herself, was one of a kind and someone I fear we’re very quickly forgetting about.

