If it were down to me Christopher Bailey would be gay and my wardrobe would be a shrine to Burberry, specifically Prorsum. I mean come on, the best I can afford is the undies I grabbed for the Triumph Inspiration Awards last week. But I must say, it was a snuggly privilege to wear underwear made by my favourite design. I just sat at the Triumph Awards and thought to myself ‘I just know I look good naked. Probably better than most of you here’. Especially Alexandra Burke, that’s a no brainer.

So it will come as no surprise to find that I was NOT at the Burberry S/S ’11 collection show. I mean my blog hardly suffices as a landmark fashion ensemble, yet Sarah Jessica Parker’s array of head wear does, even if she didn’t sport one at Burberry’s S/S collection earlier today.

If you want a trend forecast for S/S ’11 then I would have to merely say that, judging on Burberry’s latest collection, studs are an essential. There has always been a vast nostalgic vibe that has seeped out of Christopher Bailey’s work over the years since that fateful day when he stumbled upon a gallery of photos of bikers in the Burberry archives. The S/S collection appeared to give off just the same vibe.

Jackets as well as trousers were littered with shiny, dangerously sharp, studs covering the shoulders, arms and cuffs of many of the leather jackets shown. A somewhat futuristic angle was clear through Christopher Bailey’s use of silver trousers for women with detail directly focussing on the knee pads and ankles. Dare I say, and forgive me for this, that the silver trousers together, with the Burberry sunglasses had me wondering when Agent Smith or Neo were going to turn up.

Burberry naturally wouldn’t be Burberry without the trademark trench coat, another reason why I just had to buy one for winter, even if it is Uniqlo. The trench coat itself was dealt a revamp this season with black stripes flowing down the cuts of the coat finished with a blue belt. I didn’t think it would work at first but then again who am I to question a man such as Christopher Bailey?

Images from LondonFashionWeek.co.uk

