For a while it seems I’ve posted nothing. Why? The answer is pretty simple. I have had nothing to write about. Nothing I care for all too well has encouraged me to really write. How on earth am I meant to make money from my writing when I don’t always feel like writing? Regardless, this week an unconfirmed rumour has spread like wildfire that the woman responsible for launching Kate Moss’s career has passed away. Again, this is simply a rumour but I can’t help but feel that everything and everyone has become far too serious as of late. Thank god for LOVE magazine and thank god for Isabel Marant.

I sometimes think of myself as another fashion idiot. I take the industry too seriously, and there are more than enough stern-faced workaholics out there to fiddle about on InDesign from dusk ’till dawn. Something I would assume every student, including myself, would ponder on is the thought that to criticise without credibility is the motorway to becoming black listed, to upsetting the big bosses and to leaving dangerous evidence behind when you reach that first office job. After reading Katie Grand’s editor’s letter in this issues LOVE magazine I can write comfortably in the knowledge that tastefully criticising the odd publication here and there can be overlooked, after all if Katie Grand can use the word tits, yes tits, a total of eleven times before signing her name with a perfectly illustrated pair of cherries at the bottom of the page I’ll begin to look through the eyes of live and let live.

Issue 4 - photography by Mert Alas and Marcus Piggott

Isabel Marant, the Parisian fashion designer openly talked to LOVE about her dislike towards big breasts and lips, her disbelief in internet shopping (and selling) as well as her disregard for ‘the fashion people’. I love her already. How can such a big contradiction work so well?

Isabel Marant photographed by Inez Van Lamsweerde and Vinoodh Matadin

