See no evil. Speak no evil. Hear no evil. Opinion is an incredibly self-destructive tact-tic that some applaud whilst others disgrace. Yet to call it evil is practising both ignorance and little understanding. I have an opinion, yet I refuse to believe as a blogger, I am evil.

Left: Colin McDowell, chairman of Fashion Fringe

I’m a big fan of Colin McDowell, not only has he created a platform for fresh talent in the fashion industry but he has also spoken openly, with opinion, about the fashion industry. Critical analysis is like looking for gold dust shortly after Gordon Brown sold off the UK’s gold deposits. This topic alone is something I fear could put me in the firing line from fashion magazines around the world (there goes my future). Yet it is a topic that needs to be addressed, and without doubt has been from a variety of professionals, but mainly free thinkers, if I am allowed to separate the two.

Fashion bloggers, like myself, from around the world are continuously pouring out page after page of opinion no matter how subtle yet Colin McDowell talks, in an earlier blog post of his, how fashion journalism itself is slowly dying (if not quickly). Readers turn to blogs for opinion rather than analysis which seems to be the repeated type of feature in many magazines these days. Comments litter his posts and yet one in particular caught my attention. Fashion bloggers young and old (but mainly the young of course) who are picked out by the big bad boss from within the centre of the industry are littered with front row seats at every fashion week taking place around the world. They are lavished in luxury, Gucci bags, Prada suits and intimate dinners with the top designers we all dream of meeting one day, but in return are they being asked to forget they ever had an opinion?

Colin’s point has sent shudders through my spine, and after being victim to a pep talk on loosing my conscience as a journalist at University today, I’m beginning to wonder just how many fashion journalists out there can openly say they have such a passion for their speciality that they deem what is both creatively respectable and what is simply absolute jargon through their use of opinion.

The truth to those who are not studying in this field can come as a shock (and it still is to me despite studying this) that my opinion is worthless in an industry that sells itself entirely on pleasing. Everyday readers are quickly beginning to understand that a refreshing view-point in the fashion industry is opinion and the only way in which they can indulge in this need is by turning to the bloggers. Those who are not paid to voice their opinion through the means of their passion but instead dreading only ever being able to appreciate. For a world without criticism is no real world at all.

